"Wearing It" by Penny Lane – The Halston Heritage Collection Canadian Launch

05Mar10

Thrilled at the exclusive opportunity we’ve received through The Society to attend the official Canadian launch of the Halston Heritage Collection with my fellow Advocate Miss Angela Young, I eagerly began searching online for previews. What a gorgeous collection. Each piece was so simple yet so powerful, beautifully structured and to be honest, belongs in my closet.
From a style standpoint, the 70’s were such a breathtaking era. Flowy dresses, floral, jersey and silk with soft pleats (think Bianca Jagger and a young Lauren Hutton in a backless floor sweeping gown). It was the era of high waisted trousers, disco glamour, patterns, prints (Emilio Pucci is still a cult favorite) and effortless chic.

I adore so many trends that emerged during this time and Halston Heritage revives my favourites. They perform a flawless throwback to era that oozes glamour. Every piece evokes a classic take on a Studio 54 effortless chic. Very 70s Hollywood and absolutely timeless. They do a beautiful Charlie’s Angels’ inspired halter jumpsuit in a classic black jersey and a tie dye short version that I would wear every single day this summer if I could only get my hands on one. Their dresses are simple yet anything but basic. I love the vivid blue floor length caftan with the golden belt piece and the peach one shoulder mini. What incredible items to revive from such an important time in fashion.

I’ve only been able to find bits and pieces from the collection all over a range of online shopping sources and most sites are already very limited in selection and sizes. Absolutely looking forward to seeing these in person.



Now for the major question: do we wear Halston to the launch? Since the collection is fairly small in size I’m a bit worried about showing up in an outfit 20 other women may be wearing. A better idea may be to pay homage to the 70’s glamour evoked by the Halston pieces and go vintage for an original look. Can’t wait for the planning to begin.

4 Responses to “"Wearing It" by Penny Lane – The Halston Heritage Collection Canadian Launch”

  1. well done Miss Lane!! xo

  2. ms turchik!! this is amazing! i think we found your new career!! xoxo

  3. So nice. So you 🙂

  4. I do not even know how I ended up here, but I thought
    this post was great. I don’t know who you are but certainly you’re going to a famous
    blogger if you aren’t already 😉 Cheers!


Leave a Reply

